Office of Communications - Public Affairs

The Public Affairs team raises the visibility of UCSF research, patient care, and education among external audiences by working with traditional and new media.

For journalists, visit our Media Center

For faculty interested in getting your news covered or responding to media inquiries, visit our Faculty FAQ

Jennifer O'Brien portrait.

Jennifer O’Brien
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Public Affairs
jennifer.obrien@ucsf.edu

Kristen Bole portrait.

Kristen Bole
Director, Clinical Communications
kristen.bole@ucsf.edu

Pete Farley portrait.

Pete Farley
Director, Research and Education Communications
peter.farley@ucsf.edu

Jason Alvarez portrait.

Jason Alvarez
Senior Public Information Representative
jason.alvarez@ucsf.edu

Covers basic biomedical research, including cancer biology, immunology, and genetics.

Lorna Fernandes portrait.

Lorna Fernandes
Senior Public Information Representative
Lorna.Fernandes@ucsf.edu

Manages media relations for UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospitals overall and is the point person for day-to-day media stories for UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland.

Elizabeth Fernandez portrait.

Elizabeth Fernandez
Senior Public Information Representative
elizabeth.fernandez@ucsf.edu

Covers the cancer program, breaking news, emergency medicine, tobacco, and obesity.

Laura Kurtzman portrait.

Laura Kurtzman
Senior Public Information Representative
laura.kurtzman@ucsf.edu

Cover digital health, global health and translational science.

Suzanne Leigh portrait.

Suzanne Leigh
Senior Public Information Representative
Suzanne.Leigh@ucsf.edu

Covers UCSF Medical Center at Mission Bay.

Scott Maier portrait.

Scott Maier
Senior Public Information Representative
scott.maier@ucsf.edu

Covers cardiology, orthopaedics, transplant medicine, the School of Dentistry, and the School of Nursing.

Nick Weiler portrait.

Nicholas Weiler
Senior Public Information Representative
nicholas.weiler@ucsf.edu

Covers new developments in basic biological research, including stem cell biology and neuroscience.