Community & Government Relations Staff

The Office of Community & Government Relations (CGR) is responsible for cultivating and maintaining relationships with campus neighbors as well as elected officials at the local, state, and federal level, on behalf of UCSF. CGR also coordinates the University’s response to a wide range of political and policy issues, and advises administrators and faculty on strategies to facilitate dialogue with government and community leaders.

The office is led by Vice Chancellor Francesca Vega, who joined UCSF in 2019 with nearly two decades working in community and government relations at California public universities.

Learn more about Community & Government Relations at UCSF

View the CGR Organizational Chart

Francesca Vega

Francesca Vega
Vice Chancellor, Community & Government Relations
francesca.vega@ucsf.edu

Paul Takayama portrait.

Paul Takayama
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Community & Government Relations
paul.takayama@ucsf.edu

Christine Gasparac portrait.

Christine Gasparac
Senior Director, Community Relations
christine.gasparac@ucsf.edu

Manages the community relations team and is the primary community relations liaison and advisor at UCSF.

Amiee Alden portrait.

Amiee Alden
Director, Local & State Government Relations
amiee.alden@ucsf.edu

Serves as UCSF’s primary liaison to the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, Mayor’s office, the San Francisco legislative delegation, and various local and state agencies. Responsible for planning and implementing the university’s local and state government relations and advocacy efforts in San Francisco and Sacramento. 

Natalie Alpert portrait.

Natalie Alpert
Director, Federal Government Relations
natalie.alpert@ucsf.edu

Serves as UCSF’s primary liaison to Congress, the Administration and federal agencies. Responsible for planning and implementing the university’s federal government relations and advocacy efforts in Washington, DC.

Benita Benavides portrait.

Benita Benavides
Community Construction Outreach Program Manager
benita.benavides@ucsf.edu

Responsible for developing and implementing innovative strategies for UCSF’s Community Construction Outreach Program (CCOP) with our community partner CityBuild. CCOP promotes opportunities for San Francisco trade workers to construct and renovate UCSF facilities.

Allie Jones headshot.

Allie Jones
Manager, Advocacy and Communications
allie.jones@ucsf.edu

Manages UCSF Advocates, our community of faculty, students, staff, alumni and supports who stand up for values and polices fundamental to UCSF's mission. Communications lead for the Community and Government Relations team. 

Blue square.

Doreen Moreno
Director, Community & Government Relations, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital Oakland  
dmoreno@mail.cho.org

Manages community and government relations for UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland. Serves as UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital’s primary liaison to the community and elected officials in Oakland and Alameda County.

Leah Pimentel portrait.

Leah Pimentel
Assistant Director, Community Relations
leah.pimentel@ucsf.edu

Primary liaison to the Dogpatch, Mission Bay, Mount Zion and  Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital communities. Responsible for neighborhood relations, including coordinating community meetings, responding to neighbor concerns, and supporting neighborhood events through sponsorships and health services.

Lily Wong portrait.

Lily Wong
Assistant Director, Community Relations
lily.wong3@ucsf.edu

Primary liaison to the Parnassus, Mount Sutro, and Laurel Heights communities. Responsible for neighborhood relations, including coordinating community meetings, responding to neighbor concerns, and supporting neighborhood events through sponsorships and health services.